Tasting Notes: Ron Mocambo 20 Art Edition


Viva Mexico!

Viva Mexico!

In the world of spirits today Mexico is not known for it’s rum. There are however a few still producing rum which will bring you back to the old “New Spain”. Here is one example.

Licores Veracruz on the Gulf Coast side of the Country is responsible for the Mocambo premium line of rums as well as the newly introduced Los Valientes premium line in the UK. I picked up a bottle of the Mocambo 20 Art Edition on a recent trip to the great State of Texas, USA.

To the eye this rum exhibits a deep, leathery brown colored center leading to a green tinged edge.

The aromas show off high toned esters on top of a deeply rich Oloroso Sherry like rancio. This is a rum in which I could spend a day with my nose in the glass.

There is some sweetness on the front of the palate which brings the flavors forward nicely. Think rum soaked raisins with a chocolate chaser. The sweetness recedes on the finish allowing a good grip to the lingering flavors.

In a world of Hi-Tech squeaky clean distillates I love tasting a rum like this. It tastes like an old world, well matured rum suited for those looking for a dram that speaks of tradition and individuality. Rums like this may well be put on the endangered species list if we’re not careful. Licores Veracruz deserves some love for putting this one out in my opinion.

The packaging is charming and expressive.

97 Points

Tasted September 25, 2009
Bottle # 038/230
Barrel # 146

Published in: on September 25, 2009 at 1:00 pm  Comments (9)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://waylaidinthewestindies.wordpress.com/2009/09/25/tasting-notes-ron-mocambo-20-art-edition/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great notes… i like this rum also. i need to dig up my notes and post them on my blog..
    How do you blog so much– you are machine!! ;)

    • Thanks forrest…I’d love to read your take on this one. I have some time off so I’m able to get some stuff up here.

  2. Rum soaked raisins sound good, you’re giving me ideas. I like how you ended the notes about squeky clean distilleries. It sounds odd but I british rums because in many ways they leave me with this raw, down and dirty, no apologies, here i am, kind of rum. I’ll admit that I’ve never been tempted to try the mocambo line but I might have to rethink that.

  3. James, You need to try the Mocambo 20. There is lots of good stuff going on in this one.

  4. Oh my..I also find Mocambo very interesting, i hope i can try it someday but i have no idea where to get it.

    “Rums like this may well be put on the endangered species list if we’re not careful. Licores Veracruz deserves some love for putting this one out in my opinion.”

    So right!

    Cheers!

    T

  5. I just found out where to find it – The Whiskey Exchange in London!

    • Fantastic Tiare! I look forward to your review.

  6. The 20 year Mocambo is one of the best rums I have ever had. I picked it up off of an employee recommendation at a local chain liquor store, and partially because the packaging was very intriguing. But wow, what an intensely delicious drink. I think it is my current favorite as far as rums go.

    • Andrew, I’m glad you appreciate this unique rum also. It stands on it’s own from top to bottom.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

